[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Faith Without Works is Dead  (Read 8604 times)

Joanne

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Faith Without Works is Dead
« on: October 24, 2004, 05:53:53 AM »
If we are saved by Grace alone, what does it mean that faith without works is dead?

"But wilt thou know, O vain man, that faith without works is dead? Was not Abraham our father justified by works, when he had offered Isaac his son upon the altar?" James 20-21

Doesn't this say Abraham was justified by works?

judykanova

• Gold Member
Re: Faith Without Works is Dead
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2004, 06:07:37 PM »
If we are saved by Grace alone, what does it mean that faith without works is dead?

"But wilt thou know, O vain man, that faith without works is dead? Was not Abraham our father justified by works, when he had offered Isaac his son upon the altar?" James 20-21

joanne,

This is a good question.  It appears that James and Paul taught opposing doctrines of 'works' versus 'Grace'.  However, the key to understanding Scripture is to find harmony in ALL the teachings of the Bible, since the Bible is ALL from God. 

So when we compare Scripture with Scripture as we are commanded to do, we often find passages that help us reconcile seeming contradictions.  Examples of such passages in this case, I believe are these:

Rom 9:13-24

13  As it is written, Jacob have I loved, but Esau have I hated.
14  What shall we say then? Is there unrighteousness with God? God forbid.
15  For he saith to Moses, I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.
16  So then it is not of him that willeth, nor of him that runneth, but of God that sheweth mercy.

Gal 2:16