[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Literal Interpretation Versus Allegorical or Spiritual Interpretation  (Read 37231 times)

Simon

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Re: Literal Interpretation Versus Allegorical or Spiritual Interpretation
« Reply #105 on: October 06, 2012, 03:46:35 PM »

John,
    That doesn't seem to make any sense. You're saying they don't take the 1000 years spiritually because the original authors couldn't understand it that way. But they take singing mountains spiritually because the original authors could have understood it that way?   :o

To me, that's completely confused. It's like the Historical approach is based on simply deciding for yourself. Singing mountains not literal yes. 1000 years not literal, no. Based on what? It's still confused and unsound, and that's this literal approach in a nutshell. They don't even follow their own man made rules. If they did, the 1000 years could be as symbolic as the singing mountains.

John

• Gold Member
  • A man with God is always in the majority-John Knox
« Reply #106 on: October 06, 2012, 10:00:14 PM »
That doesn't seem to make any sense. You're saying they don't take the 1000 years spiritually because the original authors couldn't understand it that way.

I didn't say anything about 1000 years being spiritual or literal. What I did say was that the Literalist will always seek the literal sense first, unless the literal simply cannot be made to make sense, and even then the literal is still the preferred interpretation. It is assumed that the original hearers would have interpreted a 1000 year period as literal and not have decided 1000 years is really some indefinite length of time. Thus, the Literalist would feel they are on sure footing in interpreting 1000 years as simply 1000 year period.

But they take singing mountains spiritually because the original authors could have understood it that way?