[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Electric Guitars and Snare Drums in Church  (Read 800 times)

Rupert

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Electric Guitars and Snare Drums in Church
« on: February 04, 2018, 11:12:19 AM »

Is it Biblical or proper to have churches featuring big bands with electric guitars wailing and double drums in the church services? They play modern Christian or Christian Pop music. Is this Biblical?

Betty

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Re: Electric Guitars and Snare Drums in Church
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2018, 08:17:55 PM »
Yes it is. The Reformed music of negative traditional songs with funeral music is outdated.

https://fivethirtyeight.com/features/the-sun-is-always-shining-in-modern-christian-pop/

Frank Mortimer

« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2018, 01:54:17 AM »
Yes it is. The Reformed music of negative traditional songs with funeral music is outdated.

Actually it is not outdated. Traditional Christian music is not funeral music, nor is it negative. That's all in your head. Traditional Christian music is uplifting, and places the praise and emphasis on God and what we owe in gratitude for all he's done. Modern Christian music puts the emphasis on feelings, rhythms and partying. It's all about us rather than God.

Many Christians may disagree but I do not think that it is biblical for faithful Christians to promote big bands with electric guitars and heavy base and drums in the church services. I think this is just a example of how the modern Christians have lost their sense of what's god glorifying and what is flesh glorifying. They want to have their cake and eat it too by listening to the same things the world does and yet confess they are separate from the world.

I have seen many large and popular mega churches with these big loud bands and people gyrating and stomping in the aisles, and there is no way this is making a joyful noise unto the Lord. It is carnal.