[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: N.T. Wright's Theology  (Read 150 times)

da525382

• Obviously I'm a Novice
N.T. Wright's Theology
« on: February 01, 2020, 11:30:51 AM »
N.T. Wright seems to have a significant following.  However, his take on scripture, especially Romans and justification itself, is distinguished from the interpretations of Reformed theology.  With his interpretation of scripture being more covenant based (although Reformed theology is covenant based as well), I am concluding that he has simply chosen to find a nuanced covenant approach to exegesis.  But he has implicated Reformed theology as completely misunderstanding justification itself, among other things.

However, what has happened it seems to me, is that he has now created a new, fourth general body of Christianity, i.e., the first three being Orthodoxy, Catholicism, and Protestantism.  My take is that he believes that Reformed scholars of the Middle Ages were completely ignorant of Jewish thinking in the first century, that somehow he himself believes he is enlightened with respect to that thinking, and that therefore he has the key to proper exegesis of scripture because he can see them through the mindset of the first century Jew (or "ancient Hebrew thinking").  At the same time, he sees, I believe, Reformed theology merely in the context of a dispute of the Western mind over scripture, i.e., Catholicism vs Reformed theology, neither of which deal with how the first century Jew or ancient Hebrew thought would have interpreted the coming of Christ and the subsequent writings of the New Testament.

An insinuation to his theology is that he really seems to implicate the Reformers for anti-semitism in the world after the Reformation, resulting of course in WW II and Hitler using Luther's own words to condemn Judaism itself.