[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Why is Babylon the Great called a Mystery?  (Read 436 times)

Roger Dodson

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Why is Babylon the Great called a Mystery?
« on: December 27, 2017, 12:00:36 PM »

Maurice

Re: Why is Babylon the Great called a Mystery?
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2017, 03:29:11 PM »
Because 100 Christians have 100 different ideas of what it means.  The truth is a mystery.

Drew

• I'm a llama!
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2017, 09:40:35 AM »
The fact that the whore of Babylon is referred to as a mystery means that we cannot be completely certain as to her identity. But the best teachers say she is Iraq.

Erik Diamond

• Affiliate Member
  • We are to God the aroma of Christ. (Eph 5:2)
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2017, 04:26:24 PM »
The fact that the whore of Babylon is referred to as a mystery means that we cannot be completely certain as to her identity. But the best teachers say she is Iraq.

No, Babylon is a mystery or secret to all except those whom Christ has given to know spiritual things.  There are not many people who will actually recognize the woman for who she is. Without the Spirit, Babylon will remain a mystery/secret to them. They will come up with many theories that Babylon the Great is Rome, Iraq, Jerusalem, Papal System, etc. because they have carnal minds.

A few of us here believe that Babylon is a unfaithful congregation of Israel, the external Covenant Church where the abomination of desolation be set up.

"For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts." (Isaiah 55:8-9)

Tony Warren

• Administrator
  • Affiliate Member
    • The Mountain Retreat
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2017, 01:55:49 PM »
>>>
<<<

Mystery: [musterion], from muo (shut mouth),