[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Predestination  (Read 257 times)

Scotty

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Predestination
« on: January 06, 2018, 03:33:57 PM »
Since Predestination is unfair as it is understood by Calvinists, what is the true meaning of predestination as recorded in places like Romans 8:29 and 30? Does it just mean God saw ahead of time our determination to become saved? Thanks

billnjune

• Saved, By God's Grace Alone!
Re: Predestination
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2018, 09:08:54 PM »
Since Predestination is unfair as it is understood by Calvinists, what is the true meaning of predestination as recorded in places like Romans 8:29 and 30? Does it just mean God saw ahead of time our determination to become saved? Thanks

Hi Scotty and welcome to Mountain Retreat.

I am a Calvinist and for your information, no where in the Bible does God claim to be fair.  He claims to be just, gracious, merciful and loving.  He gives the non-elect justice in what they deserve and to the elect He gives mercy (God withholding from man what he deserves) and grace (God giving man what he does not deserve).
Here is a little parable that might help.

Let’s say that all of the molecules on a large table represent all of the people who have ever been born (perhaps 10 billion). God calls down with His megaphone and current press release saying, “Anyone who wants to go to heaven must simply keep the 10 Commandments!” How many will obey God’s edict? You got it, absolutely none. (Romans 3:10-12 As it is written: "there is none righteous, no, not one; there is none who understands; there is none who seeks after God. They have all turned aside; they have together become unprofitable; there is none who does good, no, not one.").