[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: A Bone of Him Shall Not Be Broken  (Read 1311 times)

Roger Dodson

• Obviously I'm a Novice
A Bone of Him Shall Not Be Broken
« on: September 01, 2016, 02:51:15 AM »
John 19:36
"For these things were done, that the scripture should be fulfilled, A bone of him shall not be broken".

A minister in my area told me that this was not a prophecy is not found in scripture. I searched through the scriptures and there is no passage that says a bone of him shall not be broken. This pastor says this may have been something written in an uninspired book or that a scribe might have misspoke. What do you make of this verse?

Tony Warren

• Administrator
  • Affiliate Member
    • The Mountain Retreat
Re: A Bone of Him Shall Not Be Broken
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2016, 04:03:24 AM »
>>>
John 19:36
"For these things were done, that the scripture should be fulfilled, A bone of him shall not be broken".

A minister in my area told me that this was not a prophecy is not found in scripture. I searched through the scriptures and there is no passage that says a bone of him shall not be broken. My pastor says this may have been omething written in an uninspired book or that a scribe might have misspoke. What do you make of this verse?
<<<

Actually it is the fulfillment of a prophecy, and it is found in the inspired scripture. Maybe not in the way that minister is searching for it, but still there. A prophecy (in this instance and use of the word) is something that foretells an upcoming act or event. Christ being the sacrifice Lamb satisfies the requirements of the Old Testament laws of removal of sin in scripture that foretold of His coming (Isaiah 53:7). He is the realization of what the law "represented."

Exodus 12:21