[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Should Christians Celebrate Thanksgiving?  (Read 1804 times)

Curtis

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Should Christians Celebrate Thanksgiving?
« on: November 26, 2014, 09:51:59 AM »
Reading all the lovely posts wishing a happy thanksgiving, a question came to mind. Is it lawful for Christians to celebrate Thanksgiving since it is not a church or bible sanctioned observance. Don't anyone get me wrong, I'm not saying that it is unlawful, I'm just asking the question because I have heard that Christmas, Thanksgiving and Easter should not be celebrated by Christians. Have you heard that and what is your response?

SavedByGrace

• Saved, By God's Grace Alone!
Re: Should Christians Celebrate Thanksgiving?
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2014, 12:12:54 PM »
Curtis,

If you have nothing to be thankful for then you should not celebrate Thanksgiving, but for Christians, I hope that we can all be thankful for Christ who came and paid for our sins.  The unbelievers should be thankful for the country house food or job etc, but they are really without hope in the eternity to come.

Bill
The only regret that I have is that I only have one life to live for my God.

Diane Moody

• The Kingdom is Within You
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2014, 01:00:08 PM »
I'm not saying that it is unlawful, I'm just asking the question because I have heard that Christmas, Thanksgiving and Easter should not be celebrated by Christians. Have you heard that and what is your response?