[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Public Schools  (Read 15028 times)

Joanne

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Public Schools
« on: June 21, 2008, 08:17:17 AM »
 I have a nephew who graduated from high school, and he cannot even read. His other educational skills are that of a 6th grader. Yet they awarded him a high school diploma. When did schools start passing and graduating students who haven't made the grade? Don't get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with this student, he is not mentally challeged or anything, they just didn't teach him anything or he never applied himself to learn. Either way, shouldn't he have been flunked and have to repeat any grade he didn't have passing grades on? Why are they giving people diplomas that cannot even read?

Erik Diamond

• Affiliate Member
  • We are to God the aroma of Christ. (Eph 5:2)
Re: Public Schools
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2008, 06:58:09 PM »
I have a nephew who graduated from high school, and he cannot even read. His other educational skills are that of a 6th grader. Yet they awarded him a high school diploma. When did schools start passing and graduating students who haven't made the grade? Don't get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with this student, he is not mentally challeged or anything, they just didn't teach him anything or he never applied himself to learn. Either way, shouldn't he have been flunked and have to repeat any grade he didn't have passing grades on? Why are they giving people diplomas that cannot even read?

If he actually got high school diploma, then he did have passing grades, even "D", like it or not.  My eldest son who stayed with his mother graduated last month from one of best high school in state with a 1.876 GPA overall.  What can I do?

Erik