[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Calvinism  (Read 4693 times)

A-M

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Calvinism
« on: February 23, 2012, 04:28:07 PM »
Not sure if this is correct section to share this or not.

Last night my husband and I attended a talk by a visiting Preacher from the USA ( I live in Australia ) The Church we have been attending since the beginning of this year are hosting this speaker.
We both felt so uncomfortable with this man's teaching.  He was speaking against Calvinism with the topic last night being "Total Deprivation"   All the scriptures he gave he said they were what Calvinist claim for their beliefs  but strangely he never gave any verses that disputed what those verses said so in a sense he did not explain why they were false. 
We felt he was saying that the Bible was false.... how dare he!!!!!
He claimed that we are not born sinners that we become sinners at a certain age. My husband asked him when that would be and he evaded the question.  Another person asked a question that he also evaded by going onto another subject.

Now we are so confused because if our Pastor starts preaching the things this man is doing, we will need to find another Church and we felt so certain this was the Church God wanted us to be worshipping at.

Reformed Baptist

• Reformed Baptists
Re: Calvinism
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2012, 05:37:35 PM »

Last night my husband and I attended a talk by a visiting Preacher from the USA ( I live in Australia ) The Church we have been attending since the beginning of this year are hosting this speaker.
We both felt so uncomfortable with this man's teaching.  He was speaking against Calvinism with the topic last night being "Total Deprivation"

First,