[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Jews, Muslims and Pork  (Read 2403 times)

Wayne

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Jews, Muslims and Pork
« on: October 31, 2011, 11:18:56 AM »

Why do both Jews and Muslims refuse to eat Pork? Is this a type of legalism where they actually believe it affects their moral standing with God, or is it strictly dietary and not sinful for them?

Diane Moody

• The Kingdom is Within You
Re: Jews, Muslims and Pork
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2011, 04:58:13 AM »
Wayne,
  I think that with both it is a dietary law that is done to please God because they don't think God wants them eating it. So in that sense, it is sin to both of them. It's basically for the same reasons. it is what they think pleases God because they are on a work schedule instead of grace. In the Muslim religion, their Qur'an strictly forbids them. In the Jewish religion, their Torah strictly forbids them. There really is no difference, it is all because neither understand the true God and what are his laws.

David Knoles

• I'm a llama!
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2011, 09:55:59 AM »

It would be a mistake to link Jews and Muslims in the same conversation. The Jews are God's chosen people, the Muslims are from those who have always been against God's people. Every Christian should know that just from bible school.

They don't eat Pork, shell fish or other filthy animals because that's what the scriptures told them not to do. Muslims are just superstitious.

Fred

• Obviously I'm a Novice
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2011, 11:38:27 AM »
Diane, I think you may be delusional. This is so ridiculous. I don't think that they are remotely alike. To even say that is antisemetic.

Genesis 17:9 And God said unto Abraham, Thou shalt keep my covenant therefore, thou, and thy seed after thee in their generations.

We don't need to say any more.

Diane Moody

• The Kingdom is Within You