[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Are There Different Degrees of Hell?  (Read 1661 times)

Penne

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Are There Different Degrees of Hell?
« on: May 11, 2011, 04:27:26 PM »
Are there many degrees of punishment or hell for the unsaved?  I use to believe there was only one degree of hell, but not anymore.   I don't remember how I came to this conclusion and I'm not having much luck with my studies.  Can someone please help?

Penne

Sojourner

• I'm a llama!
Re: Are There Different Degrees of Hell?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2011, 05:59:09 PM »
Are there many degrees of punishment or hell for the unsaved?  I use to believe there was only one degree of hell, but not anymore.   I don't remember how I came to this conclusion and I'm not having much luck with my studies.  Can someone please help?

Penne

Luke 12:47-28 "And that servant, which knew his lord's will, and prepared not himself, neither did according to his will, shall be beaten with many stripes.  But he that knew not, and did commit things worthy of stripes, shall be beaten with few stripes. For unto whomsoever much is given, of him shall be much required: and to whom men have committed much, of him they will ask the more."

This indicates there will be varying degrees of punishment.

Deuce Johnson

• I'm a llama!
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2011, 10:35:22 PM »

John 19:11 Jesus answered, Thou couldest have no power at all against me, except it were given thee from above: therefore he that delivered me unto thee hath the greater sin.

Greater degrees of sin would indicate to me greater degrees of punishment.

Shirley

• The Spirit of Christ
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2011, 03:42:08 AM »

James 3:1 
  "My brethren, be not many masters, knowing that we shall receive the greater condemnation."