[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: 1 out of a 1000  (Read 2792 times)

Penne

• Obviously I'm a Novice
1 out of a 1000
« on: November 08, 2007, 02:51:29 PM »
Ecclesiastes 7:27-28
27  Behold, this have I found, saith the preacher, counting one by one, to find out the account:
28  Which yet my soul seeketh, but I find not: one man among a thousand have I found; but a woman among all those have I not

This one man out of a thousand is Jesus who can forgive sins.  This leaves 999 men remaining.

Again, in the Book of Job, Jesus is one among a thousand.
Job 33:23-24
23  If there be a messenger with him, an interpreter, one among a thousand, to shew unto man his uprightness:
24  Then he is gracious unto him, and saith, Deliver him from going down to the pit: I have found a ransom.

Zechariah explains who the remaining 999 are.

Zechariah 13:7-9   
7 "Awake, O Sword, against My Shepherd, and against the man that is My fellow, saith the Lord of hosts: Smite the Shepherd and the sheep shall be scattered: and I will turn Mine hand upon the little ones. 
8  And it shall come to pass, that in all the land, saith the Lord, Two Parts therein shall be cut off and die; but the third part shall be left therein.   
9 And I will bring the third part through the fire, and will refine them as silver is refined, and try them as gold is tried: they shall call on My name, and I will hear them: I will say, it is My people: and they shall say, the Lord is My God."

The third part are the elect of God.
This two thirds is 666 out of 1000, the number of a man, those who have the mark in their hands or foreheads.
Revelations 13:18
18  Here is wisdom. Let him that hath understanding count the number of the beast: for it is the number of a man; and his number is Six hundred threescore and six.

Am I understanding this correctly, it all seems so simple.

Penne

Reformer

• Affiliate Member