[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Why I Am Still A Catholic  (Read 19124 times)

mcs7474

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Why I Am Still A Catholic
« on: December 29, 2006, 12:00:20 AM »
There is no other church on earth whose teachings and beliefs can be proven more completely from the Bible than those of the Catholic Church. Every teaching and belief of the Catholic Church is found in the Scriptures...either explicitly or implicitly.

These are the very same teachings that were taught 2000 years ago as
the Early Church Fathers show in their writings. The early church was not Baptist, Luthern, Evangelical, or Non-Denominational...it WAS and IS Catholic!!!

NOTHING in the Bible contradicts the Catholic Church
and nothing in the teachings of the Catholic Church contradicts the Bible...NOTHING!!

Yet, from a Catholic perspective, having to rely on the Scriptures alone to prove the teachings of the Church is illogical and “unbiblical.” This is because we only know of the inspiration of the Scriptures due to the teaching authority of the Catholic Church, who determined the canon and divine inspiration of Scripture at the end of the fourth century by the power and revelation of the Holy Spirit.

Nothing in Scripture itself tells us what Scriptures are inspired, what books belong in the Bible, there is no divinely inspired table of contents or that Scripture is the final authority on questions concerning the Christian faith.

To the contrary, while every Scripture passage in the Bible is inspired (see, for example, 2 Tim. 3:16 in reference to the Old Testament Scriptures), it is the Church, not the Scriptures, that is the pinnacle and foundation of the truth (1 Tim. 3:15) and the final arbiter on questions of the Christian faith (Matt. 18:17).

Which Church is the Holy Scriptures speaking of?