[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Luke Says the 11, but John Says Thomas was Not There. Contradiction?  (Read 6462 times)

Rick-O

• Obviously I'm a Novice
 I have been sharing the Word of God online when a skeptic asked me a question which has bugged me for a long time. His question was to this effect:

"Luke 24:33-36  says that the 2 disciples from Emmaus found the ELEVEN [apostles] together when they witnessed to the fact of the resurrection. But John 20:19-24 negates this by saying that Thomas was not there when that happened [when the two witnessed about the resurrection]. This is a contradiction. How can Luke say that there were Eleven and John say there were actually 10 when that happened? "

How do we reconcile the seeming contradiction?

Bradley

Re: Luke Says the 11, but John Says Thomas was Not There. Contradiction?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2006, 08:59:07 PM »
Rick,

Luke has included more of a summary overview of these events.  Notice the chapter includes Jesus appearing to the disciples and then jumps right to his ascension into heaven.  If this was the only recorded gospel, one might conclude the ascension happened on the same day as when he appeared to the disciples, but we know from the other gospels that this is not the case.

I would say Luke has used the phrase the "Eleven" because he was describing an overview of these two events, whereas John, went into more detail to describe the account of Thomas which spanned another eight days.

Each Gospel offers a different perspective to the life and teaching of Jesus.  Luke records a completely different response than John does to the appearing of Jesus:

Luke 24:36-37
36 And as they thus spake, Jesus himself stood in the midst of them, and saith unto them, Peace [be] unto you.
37 But they were terrified and affrighted, and supposed that they had seen a spirit.

John 20:19-20