[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: cain  (Read 2553 times)

eric

• Obviously I'm a Novice
cain
« on: July 19, 2006, 03:12:12 PM »
hello, My question is was there people on the earth before adam and eve. because it seems to me that there was, if not then where did cain get a wife from. adam did not beget sons and daughters until after cain had already took a wife in the land of nod. so it could not have been a sister. please explain this apparent contradiction.

andreas

• Gold Member
  • Helpless, look to Thee for grace
Re: cain
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2006, 01:01:37 AM »
<<<hello, My question is was there people on the earth before adam and eve. because it seems to me that there was, if not then where did cain get a wife from. adam did not beget sons and daughters until after cain had already took a wife in the land of nod. so it could not have been a sister. please explain this apparent contradiction.>>>

The Bible is very clear that all other people are descended from Adam

26 And hath made of one blood all nations of men for to dwell on all the face of the earth, and hath determined the times before appointed, and the bounds of their habitation;  Acts 17.

Adam is called the first man.

45 And so it is written, The first man Adam was made a living soul; the last Adam was made a quickening spirit. 1 Cor. 15.

Eve was so named because she was the mother of all living.

20 And Adam called his wife's name Eve; because she was the mother of all living. Gen. 3.

Therefore there couldn’t possibly have been any other people on earth before Adam and Eve.We’re not told when Cain married , but we can say that Cain’s wife was either one of his sisters or another close relative.There was no law prohibiting this.

Abraham  married his half-sister,and this was a marriage blessed by God, and led to the Messiah.