[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Is Mat 28:19 a fraudulent verse?  (Read 2776 times)

DorothyFan1

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Is Mat 28:19 a fraudulent verse?
« on: April 01, 2006, 11:39:03 PM »
Here's the verse from the KJV:

Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:

Now can anybody tell me if this verse is correct or has this been corrupted? What I mean is...does Mat 28:19 violate what Paul says in Romans 6:3? Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into his death?

JohnStevenson

• Make it so!
    • John Stevenson Bible Study Page
Re: Is Mat 28:19
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2006, 10:37:06 PM »
Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:

Now can anybody tell me if this verse is correct or has this been corrupted? What I mean is...does Mat 28:19 violate what Paul says in Romans 6:3? Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into his death?

Sorry, I don't see the problem.  The passage in Matthew tells us to make disciples.  The way we do that is by going, teaching and baptizing.

The passage in Romans tells us what is the significance of that baptism.  It is an identification with the death of Christ.

Dave Taylor

• I'm a llama!
Re: Is Mat 28:19 a fraudulent verse?
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2006, 03:57:26 PM »
Here's the verse from the KJV:
Now can anybody tell me if this verse is correct or has this been corrupted?

I see no reason to believe it is corrupted or it is a fraudulent verse.