[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Why Do the Wicked Prosper?  (Read 9694 times)

Mitchell

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Why Do the Wicked Prosper?
« on: August 05, 2005, 12:14:59 PM »
Hi everyone,
It is very painful for me to look at people around me who have no respect for God and who are terrible people to be so prosperous, while we are poor, just struggling to get through another month's bills. It just doesn't seem fair that so many christians are struggling, while the world and the atheistic unbelievers are prospering and getting rich on lotteries and business when they don't deserve anything. Why does the righteous always have to suffer while the wicked prosper. Doesn't God's word say he will bless those who love him? It just doesn't seem fair. What are your thoughts on this?

Carol

• Christ is All!
    • Gospel of Grace Online
Re: Why Do the Wicked Prosper?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2005, 01:08:28 PM »
Matthew 6:19-20 Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal:  But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal.

Look at how our Lord Jesus lived on this earth.  Are we better than he?  I think not.  Our treasure is in heaven, not on this earth.  We are truly blessed when we have faith, when we know and love him, because this is not something we can muster up on our own.  He must give us this faith, love and knowledge.  This is the most wonderful blessing.  It would be better to live completely destitute on this earth and get to know him, than to have riches beyond measure and not know him.

Matthew 16:26  For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?