[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: What Is A Holy Kiss?  (Read 1309 times)

Erik Diamond

• Affiliate Member
  • We are to God the aroma of Christ. (Eph 5:2)
What Is A Holy Kiss?
« on: January 15, 2017, 08:39:14 PM »
Rom_16:16
Salute one another with an holy kiss. The churches of Christ salute you.

1Co_16:20
All the brethren greet you. Greet ye one another with an holy kiss.

2Co_13:12
Greet one another with an holy kiss.

1Th_5:26
Greet all the brethren with an holy kiss.

Exactly what is holy kiss that Paul wrote?  Are we to actually called to "kiss" one another?
"For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts." (Isaiah 55:8-9)

Terrell Meyer

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Re: What Is A Holy Kiss?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2017, 09:35:59 PM »
1Th_5:26
Greet all the brethren with an holy kiss.

Exactly what is holy kiss that Paul wrote? 

I believe that the New Testament holy kiss was a cultural and sacrosanct kiss on the cheek between brethren. It is much like some people do in France, but with actual joy implying we are in union as one body. It could not be inappropriate or unchaste in any way, and it had to be culturally fitting and morally chaste.

Luke 22:47
"And while he yet spake, behold a multitude, and he that was called Judas, one of the twelve, went before them, and drew near unto Jesus to kiss him."