[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Is Josephus Reliable  (Read 8043 times)

Joanne

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Is Josephus Reliable
« on: January 30, 2005, 05:08:51 AM »

Was Josephus a credible historian? I have heard both sides of this issue, and was wondering what you thought of the historian Josephus. Is he a reliable witness to the crucifixion of Christ and to the history of the early Church. Some christians say he is and others say that he is not. It does tend to get very confusing when there is no consensus. Does anyone have information on this?

judykanova

• Gold Member
Re: Is Josephus Reliable
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2005, 05:56:07 AM »
joanne,

I haven't personally read anything by Josephus.... I feel no need, because whatever 'His-story' Josephus has written, would need to be checked against our only authority -- the Bible.  Don't make the mistake of of some, in thinking it's the other way around.

Isa 29:13-14
13  Wherefore the Lord said, Forasmuch as this people draw near me with their mouth, and with their lips do honour me, but have removed their heart far from me, and their fear toward me is taught by the precept of men:
14  Therefore, behold, I will proceed to do a marvellous work among this people, even a marvellous work and a wonder: for the wisdom of their wise men shall perish, and the understanding of their prudent men shall be hid.

judy
'For ever, O LORD, thy word is settled in heaven.'   Ps 119:89

Baerchild

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2005, 08:07:29 PM »
Joanne,