[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Sabbath and Sabbaths New Testament Controversy  (Read 408 times)

ZeroCool

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Sabbath and Sabbaths New Testament Controversy
« on: May 11, 2018, 09:30:48 AM »
>>>
John, I agree with what Minna said about your point of Young translating the word as "Sabbaths".  It makes no sense at all.
<<<

On the contrary. With a diligent study, it makes "PERFECT" sense. It may make no sense to some people who haven't studied the issue, but it makes perfect sense to God who authored it penned.

I'm beginning to see that this is the key isn't it?  Not what we think but what God said and comparing scripture to understand why he had it written that way.

>>>
Truth is the word for Sabbath is always in the plural,
<<<

That is untrue. Sabbath is written in both singular and plural form. And those "experts" who claim that nevertheless it doesn't make a difference, are experts in egregious effusion only. e.g.,

Matthew 12:5
  • "Or have ye not read in the law, how that on the Sabbath days [Plural] the priests in the temple profane the Sabbath [singular], and are blameless?"

In this verse of Matthew we have both the plural and singular used. Why? Because in the first instance it speaks of many Sabbaths (KJV translated Sabbath days), and in the second instance it is referring to the Sabbath of rest itself. And really, to believe that God inspired singular and plural words to be written in scripture "for no reason at all"

Is this also pointing to the Sunday Sabbath of rest as a sign of the Covenant? The first day of the week, Sunday?

Matthew 28:1
"In the end of the sabbath, as it began to dawn toward the first day of the week, came Mary Magdalene and the other Mary to see the sepulchre."

There are two sabbaths there in my concordance. The New Covenant verses the old? Is that what you are saying, the dawn of the sabbath of rest in Christ?

ZeroCool