[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: "Unbelief" in the Bible  (Read 2115 times)

laurenp

• Obviously I'm a Novice
"Unbelief" in the Bible
« on: October 03, 2014, 01:00:54 PM »
What exactly does the sin of unbelief consist of? Is it disbelieving that the bible is real, like atheists, etc? Or is it something more? Is it disbelieving that Christ died for you? I'm confused as to the thorough makeup of the sin of unbelief. What kind of unbelief is it that angers God so?

clark thompson

Re: "Unbelief" in the Bible
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2014, 07:00:45 PM »
To reject the bible is to reject God had it written for us. I think all them are the sin of unbelief.
the best form of worship is to be in the will of God

lpowell

• Obviously I'm a Novice
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2014, 08:28:03 PM »
Lauren, do you have a particular passage in mind?  There are plenty of examples in the Old Testament of not believing the prophets.  Most reap the physical punishment due Old Covenant disobedience.  Sometimes I wonder if even the blasphemy of the Holy Spirit can be properly understood without placing it in the context of the approaching end of the Old Covenant law of National Israel.  We must recognize that we are moving into the end of the church age.  Just like the the end of National Israel, and like the time of the flood, it must be characterized by universal unbelief so that God will be justified in destroying and recreating his chosen body.

Lloyd

Susan

• Obviously I'm a Novice
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2014, 09:27:35 AM »

A lot of people say sin is unbelief. Is that correct?

Frank Mortimer

« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2014, 07:13:26 AM »

A lot of people say sin is unbelief. Is that correct?

Unbelief is sin, but sin is not unbelief. You can believe and still sin, so sin cannot be unbelief.

"Whosoever committeth sin transgresseth also the law: for sin is the transgression of the law.