[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Did Jephthah Sacrifice His Daughter?  (Read 16737 times)

Rose

• De 8:8 "A land of oil olive, and honey.."
Did Jephthah Sacrifice His Daughter?
« on: January 20, 2009, 09:19:41 AM »
Hi all,

Jg 11:30 And Jephthah vowed a vow unto the LORD, and said, If thou shalt without fail deliver the children of Ammon into mine hands,
 31 Then it shall be, that whatsoever cometh forth of the doors of my house to meet me, when I return in peace from the children of Ammon, shall surely be the LORD'S, and I will offer it up for a burnt offering.

I have a question that is puzzling me. Why did Jephthah sacrifice his daughter? And perhaps, did Jephthah actually sacrifice his daughter? I've heard he never really sacrificed her. isn't human sacrifice forbidden in scripture?
"I am the rose of Sharon, and the lily of the valleys." - S.O.S. 2:1

Rick Reeves

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Re: Did Jephthah Sacrifice His Daughter?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2009, 09:41:06 PM »
If your name was Halle, you'd probably get a FAQ written for you. As it stands, your out of luck.

Tony Warren

• Administrator
  • Affiliate Member
    • The Mountain Retreat
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2009, 12:40:46 PM »
>>>
If your name was Halle, you'd probably get a FAQ written for you. As it stands, your out of luck.
<<<

...actually, that is a very good question, so I will have a FAQ on it in a week or so. Thanks Rose and Rick!

nosce te ipsum"

Peace,
Tony Warren
"I acknowledged my sin unto thee, and mine iniquity have I not hid. I said, I will confess my transgressions unto the Lord; and thou forgavest the iniquity of my sin. Selah. -Psalms 32:5"

andreas

• Gold Member
  • Helpless, look to Thee for grace
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2009, 01:51:06 AM »