[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: 1 Corinthians 3:10-15 Question  (Read 1271 times)

Reformed2005

• Obviously I'm a Novice
1 Corinthians 3:10-15 Question
« on: November 12, 2008, 09:11:32 PM »
Hello, all!  In studying again 1 Corinthians, I came across a difficult passage, that I would appreciate some assistance with.

10According to the grace of God given to me, like a skilled master builder I laid a foundation, and someone else is building upon it.  Let each one take care how he builds upon it.  11For no one can lay a foundation other than that which is laid, which is Jesus Christ.  12Now if anyone builds on the foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw - 13each one's work will become manifest, for the Day will disclose it, because it will be revealed by fire, and the fire will test what sort of work each one has done.  14If the work that anyone has built on the foundation survives, he will receive a reward.  15If anyone's work is burned up, he will suffer loss, though he himself will be saved, but only as through fire.

Here is my issue.  Every commentary I read explains that the passage is regarding other missionaries/preachers/etc that are in Corinth, but are not preaching the true Gospel.  I want to agree with this, being that I am a mere 30yrs old, and do not have the great knowledge of RC Sproul or John Calvin, or the like.  But, I have a hard time with this interpretation, and hope that someone can explain to me why it fits.

Here is my issue with this interpretation:

- In the passages preceding, Paul seems to be admonishing the Corinthian Church, the INDIVIDUAL PEOPLE, for divisions among themselves.  Why, then, when speaking of sound doctrine in one's mind, would Paul be applying the teachings to only the leaders of the Church?