[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Thou Art Weighed in the Balances and Art Found Wanting  (Read 198 times)

Jon Thomas

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Thou Art Weighed in the Balances and Art Found Wanting
« on: July 25, 2017, 03:54:44 AM »
Greetings in the name of our Lord,

I have been reading Daniel 25:27 where it says "Thou art weighed in the balances, and art found wanting" mean? Specifically, what does this mean? Thank you so much for a beautiful community.

Reformer

• Affiliate Member
  • Reformed and Evangelical
Re: Thou Art Weighed in the Balances and Art Found Wanting
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2017, 09:41:35 AM »
Hi Jon,
  This language means that when God's justice is applied and the king's actions, and those actions are weighed by God's standards,  the king has failed to meet God's acceptable standard of God fearing behavior, according to what God requires of him. He is found wanting in that regard.

Pilgrim

• Reformed and Reforming
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2017, 12:42:09 PM »

A balance is an old fashioned scale. Originally a scale worked by balancing something against another known weight. So it means the balance was not correct.
"And she shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call his name JESUS: for he shall save his people from their sins." -Matthew 1:21

Tony Warren

• Administrator
  • Affiliate Member
    • The Mountain Retreat
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2017, 02:39:04 AM »
>>>
Greetings in the name of our Lord,
<<<

Welcome!

>>>
 I have been reading Daniel 25:27 where it says "Thou art weighed in the balances, and art found wanting" mean? Specifically, what does this mean? Thank you so much for a beautiful community.
<<<

Daniel 5:27
  • "TEKEL; Thou art weighed in the balances, and art found wanting."