[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: What is Good Christian Stewardship  (Read 329 times)

Johnny

• Obviously I'm a Novice
What is Good Christian Stewardship
« on: June 18, 2017, 04:48:49 PM »
Hello fellow Believers,

I feel like I spend too much time, energy and resources on my wife and family and not enough on our Lord and the gospel. My question is, does this mean I am actually neglecting my stewardship, or even that I might not actually be saved? My Pastor says no because my first Christian responsibility is to my family, but I wanted to get other opinions if this is correct. I do feel guilty sometimes, so this is why I ask.

aquatic

Re: What is Good Christian Stewardship
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2017, 06:08:25 PM »
1 Timothy 5:8 But if any provide not for his own, and specially for those of his own house, he hath denied the faith, and is worse than an infidel.

1 Cor 7: 32 But I would have you without carefulness. He that is unmarried careth for the things that belong to the Lord, how he may please the Lord: 33But he that is married careth for the things that are of the world, how he may please his wife.

Reformer

• Affiliate Member
  • Reformed and Evangelical
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2017, 06:57:16 PM »
See my Father's day message on responsibility and being a watchman

http://www.mountainretreatorg.net/yabbse/index.php?topic=2805.msg37852;topicseen#msg37852

Father'say really should be a day to appreciate and be anexample of our Heavenly Father

Kevin Wright

• Always Reforming
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2017, 04:54:53 AM »
My question is, does this mean I am actually neglecting my stewardship, or even that I might not actually be saved? My Pastor says no because my first Christian responsibility is to my family

I'm sorry but your Pastor is obviously wrong. Your first responsibility is to God, your family is second. Don't listen to your Pastor or to your friends, listen to God.