[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Hyper-Calvinism  (Read 1529 times)

ZeroCool

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Hyper-Calvinism
« on: April 20, 2017, 08:00:38 AM »
Is Hyper-Calvinism a form of fatalism?

ZeroCool

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Re: Hyper-Calvinism
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2017, 12:35:55 AM »

Anyone have any opinion on this?

Melanie

• Gold Member
  • Psalms 52:8
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2017, 01:30:03 AM »
Zerocool,
I think Hyper Calvinism (in effect) teaches that God is the actual author of sin because he ultimately controls all aspects of one's life where man is just a puppet in God's hand,or chess pieces on a board to be moved around by God. I think that really makes man responsible for nothing because ultimately God is pulling all the strings. It takes predestination to absurd and unbiblical heights by intellectualizing and over thinking the issue.

"Let no man say when he is tempted, I am tempted of God: for God cannot be tempted with evil, neither tempteth he any man: James 1:13"

I do believe that Hyper-Calvinists conclude that not only does God predestinate and move us to salvation, but also predestinate and moves the wicked to be damned so that God can glory in that. This is a half truth, which means it's a lie. It contradicts God's word I just quoted in James that not only can God Himself not be tempted to sin, he tempts or moves no man to sin. Not for His purposes or anyone else's. From what I read of hypercalvinism, it's wrong. In my opinion Hyper Calvinism is a form of fatalism in that it basically teaches that whether to sin or to righteousness, God is responsible for both in double Predestinating and pre-authoring our actions. But God only says he pre-authors our move to obedience that we would be saved, not to disobedience or sin that we would be damned.

Joe Johnson

• Obviously I'm a Novice
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2017, 08:18:05 AM »