[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Thorn in the flesh  (Read 1453 times)

laurenp

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Thorn in the flesh
« on: October 12, 2015, 12:10:36 AM »

lpowell

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Re: Thorn in the flesh
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2015, 07:08:12 AM »
Lauren, I'm impressed in your recognition of another important topic.  And the use of variety in media of presentation.  And yes, I believe that there is something deeper in the reason for the silence in sharing when questions are really beginning to overwhelm us.
  I'll reveal my age by saying that I had to ask my daughter what Sponge Bob stands for.  She said it is superficiality, avoiding reality, mocking.  As Tony has detailed in his article ( http://www.mountainretreatorg.net/bible/the_thorn_in_the_flesh.html ),  that is exactly how the majority wants to understand the thorn.  That it is just his eyesight or some other simply physical ailment.  Satan would desire to have us believe that he is a distant, easily recognizable Halloween character bringing outward evil we can easily identify and avoid.
  Something that Tony alluded to is emphasized in this cartoon.  This messenger of the flesh has a primary goal of blocking the opening of the Gospel of Christ grace to the world.  And so we have to ask the question... Why is God releasing Satan to do this throughout the world today?  If we are approaching the end of the age, do we need to take special notice of our tendency to avoid the harsh work of Christ judging us to reveal Himself?

Matthew 16:23 But he turned, and said unto Peter, Get thee behind me, Satan: thou art an offence unto me: for thou savourest not the things that be of God, but those that be of men.

Lloyd                p.s.  this thread belongs in a higher category than just humor

laurenp

• Obviously I'm a Novice
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2015, 10:56:22 AM »