[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Why are there so few Christians in Japan?  (Read 9658 times)

Susan

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Why are there so few Christians in Japan?
« on: October 04, 2014, 06:51:59 PM »
As I read about the prevalence of earthquakes, Floods, tsunamis and the lastest volcano eruptions that killed so many, I am struck by the fact that among nations, there are so few Christians in Japan. CXan it possibly be that God is sovereign over these calamities because of their lack of response to Christianity as other nations have responded? It just makes me wonder why there are so few Christians in Japan, and why are so opposed to Christianity. In fact, they say Japan is one of the most secular nations of the world. Why? And is there any correlation you think?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christianity_in_Japan

I also looked up the above link which was also interesting.

Frank Mortimer

Re: Why are there so few Christians in Japan?
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2014, 07:11:32 AM »

I would say that it is probably because they have such a long standing sense of family and tradition and so hold more to the old ways and tend not to trust outsiders. Their tradition is generally the Shinbutsu shūgō mostly consisting of Buddhism and Kami, but generally no real Religion at all. Which really seems strange to me as most believe in souls or spirits existing even in Dolls, or of a type of reincarnation. It's difficult to explain.

Do I think their unbelief results in them having more troubles and calamities? I can't really say yes or no. It does seem odd sometimes but on the other hand, it could be just coincidence. These days, a lot of people are opposed to any religion as somehow they blame all the problems of the world on religion, money or leaders.

Wcjciech Semkowski

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2014, 10:06:59 AM »
Why are there so few Christians in Japan?