[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Are Blue Ray Vs. DVD players Slower?  (Read 3146 times)

Jesse

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Are Blue Ray Vs. DVD players Slower?
« on: December 26, 2013, 01:45:16 PM »
Howdy,
  I got a new Blueray player for Christmas and compared to my DVD player, it seems really slow to load movies. Is this normal, or did I just get a bad or substandard player. Thanks for your help.

Lieberman

• I'm a Llama
Re: Are Blue Ray Vs. DVD players Slower?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2013, 03:43:26 PM »
I would think that a new blueray player would be faster than an old DVD player, but I really couldn't tell you for sure. I'd take it back for a replacement and see if that works better.

NoMass

• Obviously I'm a Novice
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2013, 04:45:26 PM »
You probably received a bad (cheap) player from china for a X-mas gift. I would sell the thing on Craig's list and get another.

Kira

• Obviously I'm a Novice
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2013, 06:42:06 AM »
Howdy,
  I got a new Blueray player for Christmas and compared to my DVD player, it seems really slow to load movies. Is this normal, or did I just get a bad or substandard player. Thanks for your help.

I've had mine for a while, but I noticed that too. I think Bluray just might be slower to load than a DVD player because the disk holds so much more information.
K I R A 

Reformer

• Affiliate Member
  • Reformed and Evangelical
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2013, 11:35:07 AM »
Actually, I hear most blue ray players are much slower than your DVD player. They say that it's mainly because of all the java and BD copy protection stuff that needs to load and run.

Russell Lloyd

• Always Learning
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2013, 11:39:53 AM »
You probably received a bad (cheap) player from china for a X-mas gift. I would sell the thing on Craig's list and get another.