[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: A Buddhist Christian?  (Read 4005 times)

Stan Pat

• Obviously I'm a Novice
A Buddhist Christian?
« on: October 17, 2008, 08:14:09 AM »
Reba Mcintire apologizes to Christian fans but says she may be part Buddhist because she believes that she has been reincarnated and has been here on earth before as a man. But she still claims to be a christian and she doesn't care what other Christians think about it, that's what she believes.

My question is, can a true Christian be so deceived? Or are we just labeling everyone a Christian who claims to be a christian so we can pump up the numbers and claim there are more than one billion Christians throughout the world today? Isn't that just wishful thinking, and we'd be lucky if there were really one million? Why do we have to pretend everyone is a christian and make the foolish comment, don't judge? Why can't I say she's not a christian, she believes in Buddhism and doctrines incompatible with Christianity without someone saying, be quiet, don't judge?

Reformer

• Affiliate Member
  • Reformed and Evangelical
Re: A Buddhist Christian?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2008, 11:05:31 AM »
Let's cut through the politically correct Christian "sound bytes" and get down to brass tacks.

There are no Buddhist Christians, let's face facts. Reba is a head case, and like so many other head cases claiming to be saved and calling on Christ, she lives far away from reality. She may be able to sing, but she can't discern.

1Jo 4:1 Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.

Will the spirit of God say it may be part of the spirit of Buddhism? Think about it.

As far as labeling everyone a Christian who says Lord, Lord, that's been the case for a long while now.