[ Home | Eschatology | Bible Studies | Classics | Articles | Sermons | Apologetics | Search | F.A.Q. ]

Author Topic: Mount Zion  (Read 1454 times)

nz-cricket

• Obviously I'm a Novice
Mount Zion
« on: May 23, 2005, 09:24:30 PM »
Hi

Anybody care to discuss the use of Zion and Mount Zion in both the OT and NT? Would it be justified to state that even in the OT the concept transcedes the literal meaning and points to a better more perfect place for the people of God?

Look forward to hear your feedback on this.

Jim

Baerchild

Re: Mount Zion
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2005, 09:44:26 PM »

Anybody care to discuss the use of Zion and Mount Zion in both the OT and NT?

Jim,

I'd like to hear what you have to say...back it up with Scripture and it's sure to be a beautiful thing...I've never looked into this...thanks.

Regards,
Jim

nz-cricket

• Obviously I'm a Novice
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2005, 06:36:42 AM »
Hi Jim

Zion first is mentioned in 2 Sam 5:7 where it both appears to point to the hill / stronghold and the city of Jerusalem on that hill. Also is it made equal to the "city of David"
What begins to make this place so significant is that immediately (in 2 Samuel 6:12) David brings the ark of the covenant into to this stronghold of Zion. The ark of the covenant was the sacred seat of the holy of holies where God met His people in the tabernacle. So Zion becomes the center of worship and of God's presence.
Most of the time (in its 150+ uses in the Old Testament) "Zion" refers to the city of Jerusalem, not just as another name, but because it is the city of God's presence and the city of great hope for God's people.
Psalm 51:18, "Do good to Zion in Thy good pleasure; rebuild the walls of Jerusalem." (Zion is Jerusalem.)
Psalm 9:11, "Sing praises to the Lord, who dwells in Zion! Tell among the peoples His deeds." (So Zion is the place on earth where God has chosen to makes His presence especially known. Psalm 78:67f)